RSS

Genetic Offspring & Human Rights

20 Mar

My father was adopted.  He died four years ago.  Today, I began my journey to find his/my birth relatives by completing and mailing the following form:

Pennsylvania Adoption Information Registry Request for Adoption Information.

I reviewed several adoption registries and discovered new labels for myself including: Descendant of a deceased adoptee; Genetic offspring of deceased adoptee (my favorite!!);  and Adoptee’s Child.

I found Bastard Nation: The Adoptee Rights Organization.

“Bastard Nation advocates for the civil and human rights of adult citizens who were adopted as children. Millions of North Americans are prohibited by law from accessing personal records that pertain to their historical, genetic and legal identities. Such records are held by their governments in secret and without accountability, due solely to the fact that they were adopted. Bastard Nation campaigns for the restoration of their right to access their records. The right to know one’s identity is primarily a political issue directly affected by the practice of sealed records adoptions. Please join us in our efforts to end a hidden legacy of shame, fear and venality.”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2015 in Genealogy, Writing

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Genetic Offspring & Human Rights

  1. casepoet

    March 28, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    Fantasic!

     
  2. casepoet

    March 28, 2015 at 5:15 pm

    Excelent Writing!

     
    • JoAnn Bianchi Brown

      March 28, 2015 at 6:20 pm

      Thank you for the compliments. 🙂

       
      • casepoet

        July 24, 2015 at 2:09 pm

        How are you? i’m still in Burlington. The Mississippi is beautiful. I just put my URL on my blog and I registered it with a big search engine.

         

Leave a Reply

 
